Resources

It Can Wait. Texting while driving was estimated to be involved in 200,000+vehicle crashes in 2012, often involving injuries and deaths.* That’s why AT&T is committed to putting an end to texting and driving. We’re focused on educating the public—especially teens—on the dangers of texting and driving. No text is worth a life…It Can Wait. http://www.itcanwait.com/
As part of our commitment to safer communities, we continue to take the lead in educating the public and supporting legislation and new technological solutions for driving responsibly. We all have a role to play in keeping our roads safe by eliminating behaviors that cause us to be distracted behind the wheel. Text DRIVING to 74579 to get the facts and to take a quiz on distracted driving.
You shouldn't text and drive. There's no getting around that. If you need more reason than the safety of yourself and others, a number of states have harsh penalties for texting while driving, and this map will show you how much your state can fine you (or in some cases, how long you can be imprisoned) if you do. By far, Alaska has the strongest penalty: Up to $10,000 and a year in prison for the first offense. California has the smallest minimium fine—only $20 per offense. Four states: Arizona, Montana, South Dakota, and South Carolina, have no bans or penalties for texting while driving whatsoever. The national median is $100, and many states scale the dollar amounts and penalties up from there.
The prevalence of cellular phones, new research, and publicized crashes has started many debates related to the role cell phones play in driver distraction. This chart details state cellular phone use and texting while driving laws. Hand-held Cell Phone Use Ban: 12 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving. All Cell Phone ban: No state bans all cell phone use for all drivers, but 37 states and D.C. ban all cell phone use by novice or teen drivers, and 18 states and D.C. prohibit any cell phone use for school bus drivers. Text Messaging ban: 41 states, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands ban text messaging for all drivers. 6 states prohibit text messaging by novice or teen drivers. 3 states restrict school bus drivers from texting.
We all know that texting while driving is a terrible, dangerous thing to do. Some states have taken action with laws that ban texting while driving, while others have gone beyond that to also prohibit using your handheld cell phone (texting or not) while driving. Do you know your state's position? This map spells out pretty clearly whether texting while driving is illegal and/or if you have to put your phone on hands-free mode when you drive. (No state bans all cell phone use for all drivers, but according the National Conference of State Legislatures, 37 states and DC ban all cell phone use by teen or novice drivers, and 18 states and DC ban any cell phone use for school bus drivers.
The official United States government website for distracted driving. Includes facts about distracted driving, the latest laws, and ways for everyone to get involved.